Once upon a fair

ferris wheel

Losing weight is one battle but maintaining a 100 + loss is a lifestyle I refuse to give up on.  I’ve worked hard to get here but also it takes hard work to stay here.  There was one county fair I remember I wanted to eat everything in sight.

It’s fair time and that brings all kinds of fried food images to my mind.  There was a year that something happened where I knew I would never want to go back to my old way of unhealthy choices plus God gave me a more determined way to live healthy.  I got nauseated on a merry-go-round ride.

I saw a reminder of how chained I was to food at one time.  As the painted ponies and I were spinning fast, my eyes stopped at one of the carnival workers.  She had just sat down to a plate of sugary fried food and a giant thermos mug-full of Mountain Dew.  I had to look away.  There was something about seeing that mound of fried goop that make me feel sick plus the fast propulsion of the horses.

I immediately came under the conviction of the Spirit.  “See what happens when you open your life to this idea?”  Now don’t get me wrong I know God blesses us with good food to enjoy but I had an eating problem and God knew it.  There are many pitfalls along the way of losing weight for sure, so that’s why it’s important to practice wise choices.

God gave me a “warning” that I will always remember.  My appetites really do go that deep for me.   If you know that about yourself then why would you tempt yourself with even the thought of it all?  You wouldn’t.  Next God cemented the deal with this verse I had read earlier that day:

“Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived.  But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these…from your lips.”  Colossians 3:5, 7-8

I used to walk alongside a funnel cake but now have removed them from my life.  Because I now make good heath choices, that I have gained so much freedom by putting my focus on pleasing Him in this area over my past wrongful behavior.  I am grateful for His kind plate spinning to freedom.  I’m living free from a bondage of food.  That doesn’t mean I don’t think about it however.

There are things in this life that cause us to slowly spin away from God.  For me, food was one of those things.  But now those ideas are behind me and today finds me grateful for His goodness.  He has helped me be successful in the freedom from food.  Thinking about funnel cakes gets me to notice them, but I am learning to take a positive spin on my actions instead of letting my feelings dominate my actions.

It’s worth the effort to let God draw you back to where you need to belong.  Getting over habitual sin is liberating when you realize that God wants so much more for you.  I set my mind on NOT being tempted plus I have to guard myself against those old thoughts.  In my dependence on God, comes my independence from an issue that used to weigh me down.  That’s God at work, and that’s my best life of freedom from a lifelong stronghold.

It does get better but it’s not always as easy as you would think.  When I’m grateful for this deliverance, it helps me over the hump of wanting something I know I shouldn’t have.  What sin do you need to let go of?  If it’s habitual, how do you deal with it?

2 thoughts on “Once upon a fair

  1. Hi Janelle,
    I read a article from you yesterday in my Facebook page:) I loved it!!! I have started writing some of your quotes down on index cards to go back and retread when needed:)
    I too have lost 100lbs and know that it was totally prayers from friends and God’s provision each and everyday that got me through this season of my life. I too prayed that I would love to walk:) I know that sounds weird, but for some odd reason I had a fear. Anyhow, I now walk about 20 miles a week. I never have felt better. Our God is faithful!!! He heard me cry out to Him and answered my prayer, but not only answered but, abundantly answered it. I started my journey in January of 2013 two years ago and met my goal weight within the year. All on eating right and walking. Weight Watchers too:) When I look back I can only give Him all the credit, because this was not of me. Well, I just wanted to say that another sister in Christ is right along side of you in this walk and I feel wonderfully blessed for walking through it with Him and other sisters in Christ out there:)
    I also wanted to let you know I love your post and looking forward to reading them when they come out. May you experience the joy and happiness of Christ in all that you do!!!

    Like

    • It’s awesome to have good company along in this journey Brenda. Congrats on your weight loss, when we see what we can live without it’s so liberating isn’t it!!??!! God gets all the credit to due Him for the miracles that only He can bless our lives with. Thanks for reading and come along for the ride!

      Like

Leave a Reply

