Where God doesn’t belong

Once I wrote this post.

I don’t know if you struggle with confidence.  Truth be told I think we all do.  Confidence and arrogance can look the same to the common man.  Only God knows our hearts and knows the intention in which we plan, accomplish, and speak of the things that we do and respond to.   Only God knows.

Knowing from the intention in which I respond and make decisions isn’t necessarily the same for the next person.  I’m grateful to know that God does know our very thoughts.  If I am clean before the Lord, I have nothing to hide.  If I am in error, I can depend on the Holy Spirit to check my thoughts to know the difference.

So when you strike out and do new things, they will look different to others.  This new blog for me is  my heart’s response to what God has asked.  I don’t have anything to prove but my heart of obedience back to a request that seems only right to the Father.

Actions we take often don’t make sense to others.  The reason for this?  God’s telling you what He’s only telling you to do.  With His instructions, one can never go wrong, but we can go forward in confidence because we know the Plan-Maker.

We can’t put God in a box.  There are times when He asks you to something that might look completely out of the normal for you.  We have such a creative God, I don’t want to think of Him as only having boxed parameters.

What we know of God should be enough to trust what He tells us to do.

“Do not call to mind the former things, Or ponder things of the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  Isaiah 43:19

I’ve often thought why there are verses that give great encouragement in reminding of God’s faithfulness.  Those truths certainly help in more ways than I can describe here.  But in this verse Isaiah encourages us to forget the things of the past.  I believe that is his way of saying that God is going to do things in such a different and new way that we shouldn’t compare to how God has worked in our past.  By doing so we put God in a box.

We know God doesn’t change in His love for us, it’s not dependent on our behavior.  When we put God in a box, though we limit what God can do only through our obedience.  And when it comes to matters of my response back to Him, I want all His wild and crazy plans I can get.  That’s when it gets empowering, exciting, and difference making.

Besides there isn’t a box big enough to hold my God.

Leave a Reply

