Why resolutions don’t work for me

I find myself in beginnings a lot. I love to start things. I love to cast vision about projects. I love to think I can accomplish. I love to motivate others to start. I love to stir things up. I love new beginnings.

I love do-overs and re-dos.

I love to embrace the challenge of doing hard things. I remind myself of the “Little train that could” book. I love to consider the possibilities of what could be.

For you.

I love all the details and step taking it takes to make a change. I find myself even motivated as I am motivating others. I know this about myself. What I forget about myself is that I can do more than I think I can.

My friend, Pam, is in the details of a church ministry. There are many days that she, like me, is overwhelmed with all that God has placed in the hands of leadership. She tells me that her husband, a pastor, reminds her that “you can do more than you think you can.” She doesn’t like that about him. She doesn’t like to be reminded that ministry is work. Sometimes I don’t like that reminder either.

Why don’t we like that reminder? I think for me, it’s because it forces me to overcome my tendency to procrastinate. When the going gets tough, I like to tuck tail and run. I easily give up and not give myself a chance to succeed. I look to my own strength to achieve or accomplish and come up short many times.

Let me explain. We all have a “default” that we fall back on regarding what we know we can accomplish and or take on. In regards to getting fit for example, we plan a training regime around the time we have available, the ability in which we have to commit to training, the resources we have at our disposal, etc.

I don’t know what your default is. But we all have that line that we tend to not let our wills cross. There is always a line of commitment to cross when trying new things. There is always the idea we can do more than we currently are doing. There is always the idea that we can improve. I push myself to that line but don’t always give myself a chance to actually cross it.

So it is with our faith. We have a “ceiling” on what we believe, based on what we have seen, or what we have experienced. We all have our own limit to where we have given permission to grow or not. We have given permission to what we will believe or let doubt erode our faith. We all have to be honest with ourselves and give permission to forward or not.

We never should stop growing in our faith. We can raise the ceiling of our faith if we give ourselves permission to grow strong, instead of growing weary. We can do more than we think we can when it comes to debunking the lies that we have swallowed about our journeys.

We can. Because God’s Word says that we can do more.

1 Thessalonians 4:1 “Finally, then, brothers, we ask and urge you in the Lord Jesus, that as you received from us how you ought to walk and to please God, just as you are doing, that you do so more and more.”

I share this as an encouragement that we can do more than we think we can. We need to be reminded that when God is asking hard things of us, or easy things, or just consistent obedience in our walk of faith that we can do more because HE has already done more and more for us that is still to be discovered if we would just give ourselves permission to think about God’s strength instead of our own inadequacies that come calling loud into our lives.

What do you need to grow in instead of growing weary in?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/569/81303569/files/2015/01/img_0022.jpg

Leave a Reply

