Let this year be the “year of you”

Over a year ago there was a one line prayer that I said out loud, from the depths of my soul. It was all I could eek out. Strange coming from me who seems to have so many words for many topics. I could only utter what I needed from God in my moment of need.

“Lord, I want to be whole.”

I don’t know if you have ever prayed that kind of prayer but saying those words out loud changed me. It started a healing inside of me and the continual restoration of my soul.

It was the year that I found “me”. I had to step out of my own little small shell and find out what God thought of me. I took initiative to find what made me tick. In finding myself, I also discovered some things.

I am not who I thought I was. In finding me, I also found out who I wasn’t. Once you find your identity in Christ alone, listen friends it changes everything.

Why is this so important? It was in the understanding of how I was made by a Holy God, completely imperfect, I saw the recovery of the good work He started in me. It’s how we work out our own salvation.

It’s how we have faith. I believe that faith comes by hearing the Word of God, not by the works of our hands. So when I say it’s how I worked out my salvation, that means the changes from within to be like Christ.

I am a Christian, a believer in Jesus’ work on the cross for my salvation. His work was completed through victory over death and the grave. When I die from this life, I will live eternally in Heaven with my Savior. This is the Gospel, the good news of God for each and every one of us who believe and confess His work of salvation.

As believers, we understand we have been created for a purpose. That purpose is to give glory back to our Creator who made us to reflect His image. So everything we say, everything we do, everything we work on and at should be pointing back to God. Everything.

Including ourselves, the body of Christ. If our identity is anchored in what our hands produce, then we are identifying with the flesh. If our identity is connected to the likeness of Christ, then our hands will produce Christ.

This is where it gets confused in the world today, as we work out our salvation. Paul addressed it too when he wrote to the church of Philippi.
“Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.” ~ Philiappians 2:12-13

When I left my job of 13 years to write full time, all I had to rely on was the works of my hands and a strong faith that God had a purpose for those words that He put in my hands. I was wrong about that idea.

I needed to be healed of who I was first before I could see God’s purpose.

In praying to God, my identity stopped being connected with the works of my hands. My wholeness is the product of the Spirit and my identity is anchored in Christ alone.

I can’t begin to tell you how this has brought healing to my life. The desire to be whole put my inner critic to rest, and in a position to receive a healing that can’t be put into words.

The one line prayer put my desires in motion to see God for who he was to me, so that He could affirm His purpose in me.

Granted this seemed like such a small beginning and a place you might have thought was already in place. But I realized I needed some help in finding myself. The best place I knew to start was to ask God. His healing came over me so that I could discover the truth of me over my flesh.

Dare I ask a question? Have you ever prayed that prayer outloud to God? Do you need to be healed of what the world says about you? Your past? Your inner critic?

If you struggle with those issues, and seem fractured or confused, know that God knows who you are and has been dying to tell you. When you are conscious of spiritual weakness, do not wait for your flesh to remind you of your strengths. That will only foster false humility and pride.

Don’t wait any longer, but assume the responsibility for your weak places and ask God to show you how to see yourself, as if your salvation depended on it, because it does! God wants to change you too! You have to put the desire to change in front of Him, and His grace will do the rest!

Let this be the year you find “you” and who God says you are to Him. You’ll never go back to being who you were, but you will be working on your wholeness for you.

What do you need prayer for today?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/569/81303569/files/2015/01/img_0021.jpg

Leave a Reply

